The Extreme Heterogeneity Workshop

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research

Program Manager: Lucy Nowell (DOE)

The U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research will host the Extreme Heterogeneity Workshop in Gaithersburg, MD. The meeting will begin Tuesday at 8:00 A.M and end on Thursday, around 3:00 P.M. Writers will continue on Thursday until 5:00 P.M. Breakfast, lunch, and snacks will be included.

Extreme heterogeneity is the result of using multiple types of processors, accelerators, memory and storage in a single computing platform or environment that must support an expanding variety of application workflows to meet the needs of increasingly heterogeneous user scientists. Extremely heterogeneous supercomputers are likely to be acquired by the ASCR-supported supercomputing facilities as we reach the end of Moore’s Law while still facing rapidly increasing computational and data intensive requirements.

The purpose of the workshop is to more clearly define the challenges that extreme heterogeneity presents to the software stack and the programming environment and to identify related Computer Science priority research directions that are essential to making extremely heterogeneous systems useful, usable and secure for science applications and DOE mission requirements.

Organizing Committee

Jeffrey Vetter (ORNL) Chair
Katie Antypas (LBNL)
Ron Brightwell (SNL)
David Donofrio (LBNL)
Maya Gokhale (LLNL)
Travis Humble (ORNL)
Pat McCormick (LANL)
Rob Ross (ANL)
Catherine Schuman (ORNL)
John Shalf (LBNL)
Brian Van Essen (LLNL)
Shinjae Yoo (BNL)